Untitled Document
[an error occurred while processing this directive]
1 - 15 March 2011  
Untitled Document

Pharma Life
Pharma Ally


Express Biotech

Editorial Advisory Board
Open Forum
Media Kit
Contact Us
Network Sites
Express Computer
Express Channel Business
Express Hospitality
Express TravelWorld
Express Healthcare
Group Sites
Indian Express
Financial Express

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
Home - Pharma Life - Article

Ranbaxy Science Foundation awards deserving scientists, young science scholars

Ranbaxy Science Foundation (RSF), a non-profit organisation set-up by Ranbaxy Laboratories Limited (RLL), recently announced it's XXII Annual Research Awards 2009 to Indian scientists in recognition of their outstanding research contributions made in the fields of medical and pharmaceutical sciences. The Foundation also announced its IV Annual Science Scholar Awards to the young and brilliant upcoming new generation of scientists. The Awards were presented by renowned pharmaceutical scientist Dr. Hiroyuki Koike, Corporate Fellow, R&D Division, Daiichi Sankyo, Japan, at a special function held at the National Institute of Immunology, New Delhi. Three scientists and four science scholars were honoured with the awards.

Ranbaxy Research Awards 2009

Ranbaxy Research Awardees—2009 along with Chief Guest and Governing Council (GC) Members. From left: Prof. P N Tandon (GC Member), Dr Tsutomu Une (GC Member), Prof Sharad Kumar, Dr Hiroyuki Koike (Chief Guest), Dr Vijay K Kuchroo, Dr S Chandrasekhar, Dr O P Sood (GC Member) and Prof N K Mehra (Jury Member).

In the Medical Sciences - Basic Research category, the award went to Professor Sharad Kumar MSc, PhD Co-Director, Centre for Cancer Biology, National Health and Medical Research Council, (NHMRC) - Senior Principal Research Fellow, Head, Molecular Regulation Laboratory, Affiliate Professor of Medicine, University of Adelaide, Department of Hematology, SA Pathology, Frome Road, Adelaide, SA, Australia, for his seminal contributions to the understanding of programmed cell death and the regulation of protein function by ubiquitination.

In the Medical Sciences - Medical Research category the award went to Vijay K. Kuchroo, D.V.M., Ph.D. Samuel L. Wasserstrom Professor of Neurology, Center for Neurologic Diseases, Harvard Medical School, Boston, US, for his pioneering discovery of a new subset of T cells called Th17 cell, which play a crucial role in inducing autoimmune diseases such as Psoriasis, Inflammatory Bowel Disease and Rheumatoid Arthritis (RA).

In the Pharmaceutical Sciences category Dr S Chandrasekhar, FNASc Scientist G, Organic Chemistry Division I, Indian Institute of Chemical Technology, Hyderabad, India, received the award for his significant contributions in diverse areas of organic synthesis with relevance to medicinal chemistry especially in chiral chemistry and total synthesis of biologically active natural products with architectural complexity.

Ranbaxy Science Scholars-2010

Ranbaxy Science Scholars-2010 along with Chief Guest and Governing Council (GC) Members. From left: Prof PN Tandon (GC Member), Dr Tsutomu Une (GC Member), the mother of one of the Science Scholars who could not attend the function, Lokesh Kumar, Abhinav Agarwal, Dr Hiroyuki Koike (Chief Guest), Abitha Sukumaran, Dr O P Sood (GC Member) and Prof NK Mehra (Jury Member).

Awards in the Medical Sciences category saw recepients from different universities/ colleges like Abitha Sukumaran Senior Research Fellow, Department of Biochemistry, Christian Medical College, Vellore, India, for her research work in the area of pathogenesis of anaemia of inflammation (AI).

Pragyan Acharya, Department of Biochemistry, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, Karnataka, India, got the award for her research work in the area of clinical proteomics of the major human malaria parasites Plasmodium falciparum and Plasmodium vivax.

Lokesh Kumar, PhD Scholar, Department of Pharmaceutics, National Institute of Pharmaceutical Education and Research (NIPER), Mohali, Punjab India, was also chosen for the award for his research work in the area of optimisation of biopharmaceutical properties of drug substances by salt formation.

Abhinav Agarwal, Senior Research Fellow, Pharmaceutics Research Lab., Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Dr H S Gour University, Sagar, India, received award for his research work in the area of carbohydrate complexed polymeric nanoconstructs for delivery of an anti-cancer drug.

Koike also delivered a public lecture on the topic "Excess of sodium is the primary culprit in hypertension" which was of great interest to the audience.

Earlier during the day, the RSF organised its XVII Annual Symposium on "New Frontiers in Drug Design, Discovery and Development" with Koike as the Chief Guest and keynote speaker. Eminent scientists from India and abroad deliberated on all aspects of R&D to address major specific issues relevant to the discovery and development of drugs in India.


FEEDBACK: We would love to hear from you -- what you like about our content, what you dont, and even how you think we can improve. Please send your feedback to: editorial.ep@expressindia.com

Copyright 2001: The Indian Express Limited. All rights reserved throughout the world. This entire site is compiled in Mumbai by the Business Publications Division (BPD) of The Indian Express Limited. Site managed by BPD.